Permanent Mission of Nigeria to ECOWAS
Open Mon - Fri: 9am to 5pm


ECOWAS was established on 28th May 1975 through the Lagos Treaty and has 15 Member States: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote D’ivoire, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, The Gambia and Togo.
The Vision of ECOWAS is the creation of a borderless region where the population has access to its abundant resources and is able to exploit the resources through the creation of opportunities under a sustainable environment.


The Mission of the Permanent Mission of Nigeria to ECOWAS is to serve as the vital link between Nigeria and ECOWAS. The Mission facilitates Nigeria’s engagement with ECOWAS Member States within the framework of the sub-regional organisation, as well as links the ECOWAS Commission with relevant MDA’s responsible for operationalization of programs in Nigeria. It therefore, shapes Nigeria’s policies and engagement in ECOWAS with a view to accruing benefits for Nigerian citizens who are by extension ECOWAS citizens.



The Permanent Mission of Nigeria to ECOWAS Commission has the vision of ensuring that ECOWAS Programs and Projects have a direct, as well as positive impact on the citizens of Nigeria through the proper sensitization on these programs. The Mission also has the vision of following up approved ECOWAS projects to ensure they are implemented for the benefit of the Community citizen. Furthermore, we work towards having a Nigeria that would provide appropriate leadership for the sub-region through its activities and engagements in ECOWAS.